MAA Golf Tournament

September 18, 2017

MAA Golf Tournament

A total of 45 members and staff participated in the 2017 MAA tournament, which was once again held at Bridges Golf Club in September 2017.

Participants were permitted to enter their own teams for the Texas Scramble format. With no handicaps claimed, it was the foursome comprised of Al Coppinger, Jon Trenholm, Corey Greenham, and Judy Pestrak, who took home the trophy with a final score of 7 under par.

Other winners, at an individual performance level, included Corey Greenham for the Men’s Closest to the Pin, Judy Pestrak for the Women’s Closest to the Pin, Jon Trenholm for the Men’s Straightest Drive contest and Kristin Szuminsky for Women’s Straightest Drive.

The MAA was most pleased to receive an overwhelming level of support from many local companies. In this regard, we would like to publicly express our sincere appreciation to the following companies and representatives for their most generous contributions towards the 2017 tournament:

for Sponsorship of Beverages (“the 19th hole”):

  • Nova 3 Engineering Ltd. - Victor Thielmann & John Guenther 

for Sponsorship of Golf Carts:

  • Winnipeg Construction Association - Ron Hambley

for Sponsorship of a Golf Hole at the 2017 MAA Tournament:

  • Alpha Masonry Limited - Gus Kotulas
  • Alston Brick Supply Inc. - Murray Alston
  • Alumicor Limited - Ken Rowson
  • Bird Construction - Richard Marshall
  • Crosier Kilgour & Partners Ltd. - John Wells
  • Gange Collins Holloway, Barristers & Solicitors - Jacqueline Collins
  • Gillis Quarries Ltd. - Jeffrey Dolovich
  • GWH Construction Management Services Ltd. - Gerhard Hoppenheit
  • Hanscomb Limited - Isaac Gwendo
  • Oldfield Kirby Esau Inc. - Derek Johnson
  • R. D. Sales - Don Lagimodiere
  • Shanahan’s Limited Partnership - Jason Armstrong
  • SMS Engineering Ltd. - Sheila Matsubara
  • TD Business Banking - Rob Wild
  • Thermo Design Insulation Ltd. - Brent Glesby

and for Donation of Prizes:

  • Bornhorst Mechanical Inc. - Randy Urick
  • Buckwold Western Ltd. - Christine Lusty
  • CertainTeed Saint-Gobain - Nancy McPherson
  • Crosier Kilgour & Partners Ltd. - John Wells
  • Erv Parent Group - John Pystchula
  • Flynn Canada Ltd. - Brian Semenchuk
  • Gillis Quarries Ltd. - Jeffrey Dolovich
  • Lafarge Canada Inc. - Paul Kochan
  • Loewen Windows - Tony Novelli
  • Nathan Detroit’s Sandwich Pad - Karen Yamron-Shpeller
  • PCL Constructors Canada Inc. - Alfred Schleier
  • SMS Engineering Ltd. - Sheila Matsubara
  • Tower Engineering Group Inc. - Jack Abiusi
  • Unite Interactive Corporation - Mike Bettens
  • Wells Concrete - Art Macaw

The Association also wishes to extend its sincere appreciation to Al Coppinger and Vince Kwiatkowski for their concerted efforts in organizing the 2017 MAA Golf Tournament.

The MAA will once again be donating a portion of the proceeds that were raised through the cart and hole sponsorship, to Habitat for Humanity.